I’m walkin’ away …

Bangalorewalk

Shuttlecocks hit my head, people collide, bikes come screeching at me and I step into puddles. But it’s all worthwhile because it’s part of my daily walk.

There’s a wonderful rhythm, movement and a sense of purpose to a walk, if you do it right. Not to mention the feeling of freedom and general well-being.

So, whenever I get a chance, I go ambling down the streets of Koramangala. I suppose it’s largely the wonderful Bangalore weather, the trees and lovely villas that make me go that extra kilometre but the most important factor is the presence of pavements!

Occasionally, I meet friendly retrievers and their not so-friendly owners. I succumb to flower stalls; their offerings a bookmark of the changing seasons.  I grab a smoothie in the summer or a cappuccino in the winter to fight the longing that the aromas from the street evoke (the ‘hot chips’ shop, the bakeries, a shawarma grill and the paani-puri wala are daily temptations to be overcome). And very often, a mongrel will turn around and sniff me instead.

Then, there are the people who will turn my lazy stroll into an obstacle course. The ones that hog the pavement, the shady DVD hawkers, a fighting couple next to a parked bike, the desperate sales kid with the colourful pamphlets, or the T-shirt guy who scares every unsuspecting passer-by with his well-timed “COTTON!!” shrieks.

I can handle all this if I have music; the most important element of my walking experience. The right kind puts a spring in my step and when I’m ‘in the zone’, it creates a beautiful bubble around my head, insulating me from the noisy chaos on the street. So many impulsive detours have been undertaken to finish that favourite song before getting home.

While misty morning walks have their charm, things do get ‘romantique’ on some evenings. Leaves shimmer and fall around me, flowers lay out a red carpet and children play hopscotch as grandparents watch happily…

…and then, I step in some dog poop.

I still love walking though.

Leave a comment